Christmas Holiday Bin Collections

Normal Day Amended Day
Monday 24 December Saturday 22 December
Tuesday 25 December Monday 24 December
Wednesday 26 December Thursday 27 December
Thursday 27 December Friday 28 December
Friday 28 December Saturday 29 December
Monday 31 December No change
Tuesday 1 January Wednesday 2 January
Wednesday 2 January Thursday 3 January
Thursday 3 January Friday 4 January
Friday 4 January Saturday 5 January

Reasons for changes in collection days

We’ve had to change the collection days for most bins this year because of the opening hours of the disposal facilities that we take our waste and recycling to. They are not open on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day due to licensing restrictions. This means we would have nowhere to take waste from the district. 

We have therefore moved collection days so that everyone gets a regular collection without having to wait much longer than normal.

We will not be able to return for bins not presented on collection day. Please help share news of the changes with your neighbours.

Christmas tree recycling

Not sure what to do with your real Christmas tree once the festive season is over?

Contact us

Newark and Sherwood
District Council,
Castle House
Great North Road
Newark
Notts
NG24 1BY

customerservices@
nsdc.info

Follow us on TwitterLike us on Facebook Follow us on PinterestFollow us on Instagram

  • 01636 650000

    Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm

    Customer Feedback

  • Get in touch:

    Castle House
    Great North Road
    Newark
    Notts
    NG24 1BY

Access Extranet