Minutes of the Annual Parish Meeting of Hawton held at 6pm on Monday, 10th May 2021 in the grounds of The Poplars, Cotham Lane, Hawton

Present: Councillor T Pykett (Chairman)

Councillor D Adams Councillor Mrs K Adams Councillor K Sutton Councillor Mrs H Tyrer

County Councillor Mrs Saddington

APM21-01 Minutes of the Annual Parish Meeting – 13th May 2019

Members noted the minutes had been previously presented.

APM21-02 Chairman's Report

The Chair extended his congratulations to Councillor Mrs Saddington for her reelection to the County Council.

The Chair reflected that 2020 had been disastrous in many ways. Thankfully, the village as a whole had remained well but there had been losses, including a past-Chairman of the Parish Council.

There had been changes within the Parish Council, with a new Clerk coming into post.

The solar farm was now up and running and the village would benefit for many years from the funds that had been received. Thanks were extended to Next Energy (BP Lightsource) for this important resource. It was noted that a bigger selection of trees had been promised and the Chair would take this up with the developer in due course.

There were physical changes affecting the village, with the approach of Middlebeck and the installation of the drainage works coming down from Balderton towards Farndon.

The Chair was delighted that the Church now benefitted from new bells and extended thanks to everyone who had been involved in bringing these to fruition.

Finally, the Chair thanked his fellow Councillors for providing support to him as Chair and also for being there for the village. It was hoped that happier, more settled times were ahead.

APM21-03 County Councillor's Report

Councillor Mrs Saddington reflected that 2020 had been a challenging year with the pandemic. Hopefully, in the next few weeks, there would be face to face meetings and life would begin to return to normal.

Councillor Mrs Saddington would be happy to support the village as much as possible and would be more than happy to attend any events that may be arranged.

Councillor Mrs Saddington was pleased to have been re-elected to the County Council and was looking forward to serving her communities for the next 4 years. The elected leader at the County Council was Ben Bradley (MP for Mansfield), and Deputy Leader, Bruce Laughton.

The Chair closed the Annual Parish Meeting at 6.05pm.