Football Remembering

Notts County Council are publicising a Games of Remembrance Day planned on November 8 involving football matches at Notts County and Nottm Forest grounds and played between Men and Women of the British Army and similarly teams from German Armed Forces.

The two games -- Ladies at Notts ground at 12 noon and men Forest at 7pm -- are meant to replicate similar games that took place on Christmas Day 1917 when a WW1 24 hour truce was agreed between England and Germany and which resulted in football being played between the Army personnel of the two countries.

The two games on November 8 will be attended by VIPs and sporting legends from both countries and there will be fan zones, music and exhibition areas at both grounds.

A family ticket for the women’s game will cost £5 (1 adult and 2 children) and for the evening game two adults and two children will be admitted for £10. There will be a concession price of £2 50 to either game for any uniformed services, under 16’s, students and senior citizens.

Tickets are on sale on-line and from the box office of the host clubs.

Contact for further information.

The Games of Remembrance through the power of football, aims to bring WW1 stories of courage and sacrifice alive, 100 years after the guns fell silent.

Battles Over - Tribute to 100 years of Remembrance

Parish Councillors

Ken Sutton (Chairman)
The Granary, Sycamore Close    
Hawton, Newark    
NG24 3RL
01636 679218 (h)
07836 561617 (m)

Anthony Hayes
6 Sycamore Close
Cotham Lane

Tom Pykett
The Elms, Cotham Lane    
Hawton, Newark    
NG24 3RL
01636 703520 (h)
07918 882300 (m)

Roger Pykett    
The Hardlands, Hawksworth Road
Screveton, Notts                
NG13 8JP
01949 829304 /01636 704742 (h)
07970 467803 (m)       

Helen Tyrer

The Poplars
Cotham Lane
Hawton, Newark
NG24 3RL
01636 679245 (h)
07711 946789 (m)

Our councillors do not have set responsibilities but volunteer as matters arising occur.

If representation is required on external local public bodies, councillors volunteer depending on availability.

District and County Councillors

Newark and Sherwood District Council representatives - Ivor Walker, Keith Walker and Neill Mison.

The Nottinghamshire County Council representative - Susan Saddington

Planning in Hawton

You may wish to view / track all current planning applications for Hawton.

Contact us

Clerk to Hawton Parish Council

Mr M Elliott
19/21 Main Street
Notts. NG12 5AA
(0115) 9376506




  • 01636 650000

    Mon to Fri 9am to 5pm

    Customer Feedback

  • Get in touch:

    Castle House
    Great North Road
    NG24 1BY

Access Extranet